Dessert makes the best breakfast.

Tuesday was a day of baking.  I had wanted to bake since moving back home after graduating, but I hadn’t gotten around to it (or other things, like unpacking, but I digress).  Unlike myself, FH does not love banana bread.  Which is just a damn shame, because it is one of things I have loved since childhood, possibly even more than pumpkin bread in the shape of Christmas trees.  However, FH’s grandmother recently made a “banana cake” that he did enjoy, and the bite I tried of it was pretty delicious.

On Monday night, FH’s grandmother offered me a few a bananas she had (they were on their way out), along with the ‘banana cake’ recipe, since she wasn’t going to have time to make the cake herself.

I, of course, grabbed the bananas, the handwritten recipe, and ran.

The exact title for this beauty is technically “Banana Coffee Cake,” but I think it will be known as Banana Bread-Cake in my future household.

The cake got nibbled on the moment it cooled.

And hours later it was nearly gone, having fallen into the hands of hungry younger sisters fresh out of school.

If that wasn’t enough baking for the day, my younger sister had to bake an apple pie for her cooking class.  She mentioned she had to have pictures taken of her doing certain things, so of course me and my Canon point-and-shoot volunteered.  As I am sure y’all don’t care to see pictures of her cleaning off the counter and whatnot, but I will share some goodness of the finished project, as well as her lovely plating.

Recipe for Banana Bread-Cake
Ingredients:
½ cup of butter
1 cup sugar
2 eggs
¾ cup of mashed banana
1 ¼ cup flour
¾ teaspoon of baking soda
½ teaspoon of salt

(Pre-heat oven to 350 degrees)
1.  Cream butter and sugar till fluffy.
2.  Add eggs one at a time.
3.  Stir in banana.
4.  Mix dry ingredients together.  Add to banana mix.
5.  Use 9x9x2 pan, bake 30-35 minutes.

Leave a Reply

